How much does inspection cost?
Marlyand State Inspection for Motorcycles costs $75.00 at Shore Cycles.
How do I get an inspection done?
Make an appointment. You can use the form above, or call us at (443) 291-3030.
Do you take walk-inspections?
Yes, depending on inspector availability and shop schedule. We request that you make an appointment for the best service.
How long does inspection take?
Once you have your appointment, inspection takes about 1 hour.
Does “this part” pass inspection?
The best way to find out if your bike or bike’s components pass inspection is to actually put your bike “through” inspection. Maryland inspection is designed to tell you everything you need to pass inspection.
Do aftermarket exhausts pass inspection?
The short answer is that many do pass, but many don’t pass. The rules are very specific and the best way to find out is to get your inspection done. If you need a stock exhaust or a modification or a baffle, we can help you get those parts to pass inspection.
What basics do I need to pass inspection?
This is not a comprehensive list but just a short example of some of the many things you need to pass inspection. Tires need to have 3/32 or greater tread depth and have zero dry-rot or cupping. Brake rotors and pads must be within factory specified thicknesses (verifies by model). All lights must work and be stock. Bike must have the appropriate DOT reflectors. Stretch blocks do not pass. Handlebar height must be no higher than 24” from the seat.
If my bike doesn’t pass, how long do I have to remedy the issues?
Inspections are valid for 90 days, however, you can receive a free re-inspection if remedy any issues that didn’t pass if the re-inspection is completed within 30 days of the initial inspection date. Example: You get your inspection done on April 1st and your bike didn’t pass. You remedy the issues that didn’t pass and schedule your re-inspection with us on April 15th. Your re-inspection would be free and total cost would be $65. You then have until July 1st to turn in your inspection at the MVA and get your title/tags. Alternatively, if you wait until May 2nd to get your re-inspection down, it will cost another $65 because you’re outside of the 30 day free re-inspection window.
Why can’t your mechanic look at my bike in the parking lot really quick to tell me if something passes?
Unfortunately, Maryland State Inspection requires that the inspection must be completed in-full, in our shop, without comments being made in the parking lot with regards to what passes and what doesn’t. Also, only certified Maryland State Inspectors may inspect bikes or make official comments regarding what passes and what doesn’t. Not everyone at our dealership is a state inspector.
How come your inspector rode my bike after inspection?
A proper rode test drive to prove safety and road-worthiness is required by Maryland State Inspection.
Who administers the Maryland State Inspection service?
Maryland State Inspections are operated by the Maryland State Police Automotive Safety Enforcement Division.